An online subscription is required to access the content on this website.
SUBSCRIBE TODAY to have total access 24 hours a day to the Newberry News.
2018-06-13 / Local News

Cloverland Electric Announces Election Results

Cloverland Electric Cooperative announced the results of the director elections at its Annual Meeting of the Members on the evening of June 7 at the Dafter Township Hall.

Cloverland is a democratically controlled, not-forprofit electric co-op that is governed by nine directors elected by and from the members of their respective districts to serve a three-year term in office. One seat is up for election in each district each year. Voting took place by mail-in ballot, which concluded on May 31.

Gerald Nettleton of De- Tour Village is the newly elected director for District A, receiving 1,038 votes. Andrew Brown of St. Ignace received 938 votes, Susan Rutledge of Hessel 788 votes and Joseph Durm of St. Ignace 234 votes. District A also is represented by Jason St. Onge of Mackinac Island and William LaLonde of St. Ignace.

Jason Oberle of Sault Ste. Marie is the newly elected director for District B, receiving 1,436 votes. Charles Litzner of Sault Ste. Marie received 888 votes and Raymond Johnson of Eckerman 486 votes. District B also is represented by John Sawruk of Sault Ste. Marie and Carmine Bonacci, Jr. of Sault Ste. Marie.

In District C, Ron Provo of Manistique was reelected with 1,014 votes. Allan Ott of Manistique received 828 votes, Wayne Hellerstedt of Germfask 505 votes and Isaac Swisher of Manistique 345 votes. District C also is represented by Virgil Monroe of Manistique and Peter Legault of Engadine.

Prior to hearing the election results, members voted to amend the qualifications for a director candidate to include language that reads, “No one who is a registered sex offender or has been convicted of a sex-related crime may run for the board of directors.”

President and CEO Dan Dasho stated, “I would like to thank all the director candidates for their interest in serving the cooperative by pursuing a seat on the board of directors.

“I also would like to thank the members who took the time to vote and participate in this democratic process. This year, 25.6 percent of the members participated in the vote.

“Finally, I want to extend a hearty thank you to Charles Litzner, who tirelessly represented the members in District B for six years.”

Return to top