An online subscription is required to access the content on this website.
SUBSCRIBE TODAY to have total access 24 hours a day to the Newberry News.
2018-05-16 / Columnists

Safe Driving Tips

Never, Ever Drink and Drive!
from the Michigan Secretary of State

Drunk driving is dangerous and expensive. In 2016, 38.7 percent of Michigan traffic crash fatalities were alcoholrelated.

It’s a crime for a driver to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 or greater if under age 21; however, drivers can be arrested at any BAC level if they exhibit signs of impairment while operating a motor vehicle.

If you’re caught with alcohol in your system, you’ll face stiff penalties and fines. For drivers under the age of 21, a first offense may include a 30- day license restriction, four points on your driving record, up to a $250 fine and up to 360 hours of community service.

Alcohol convictions that involve driving remain on your record for life, and many employers, colleges and military recruiters take alcohol-related offenses into consideration when hiring or accepting applicants.

Help stop impaired driving! If you drink, contact a trusted adult to come pick you up, call a taxi or use SaferRide, a free app from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that can help you get home safely.

Return to top